South East Asia 2015: Sunburn and Sweat

I don’t know what it is about me and Asia; but every time I visit this continent I always happen upon a man relieving himself on the side of the road.

First it was in Beijing when my eyes were forever burned with the image of a man doing a poo on the side of a highway while our tour bus drove by. This time it was in Bangkok when I was squished into a tuk tuk, already a bit uncomfortable and scared for my life as the driver bobbed and weaved down Bangkok’s streets when I turned my head at precisely the wrong moment and received an eyeful of an old man’s private parts mid-pee. Wrinkly old man bits were not exactly on the top of my “Ten Things To Do While You’re In Bangkok” list but hey, wrinklyย old man bits are just a part of life.

I’ve been traveling through Thailand and Cambodia since January 1st as part of the Gadventures Cambodia on a Shoestring Tour. I’d always thought of Thailand as a brilliant place to go kick back and relax and maybe have a few (dozen) drinks on the beach so when my best friend suggested we take a trip here over our Summer holidays I didn’t hesitate before I said yes. Although, when she suggested weย visit Cambodia and Vietnam as well I was slightly apprehensive. All I wanted was a chilled beach holiday and I didn’t think these two countries had much to offer in terms of a that.

Now, I’m not usually happy to admit when I’m wrong but gee whiskers was I wrong. Cambodia and Vietnam are steeped in incredible history and culture that excite the soul and extend past way more than the regular beach getaway. We’ve only been here six days and already we’ve visited Wat Pho (the reclining Buddha), been ripped off by a canal boat tour, watched a lady shoot ping pong balls out of her vagina, adventured through Angkor Wat, experienced the killing fields in Phnom Penh, been tipsy on both Khao San Road and Siem Riep’s pub street and survived a seven hour bus trip along a pothole ridden dirt road (free butt massage for the win). Updates about the individual activities and photos will follow soon but for now, I need to hit the (probably bed bug ridden) hay as the hours in the sun and half price cocktails are catching up with me. Kob khun ka Akun ๐Ÿ™‚

Photo op with Wat Pho's main man. Photo taken at Wat Pho Temple Complex in Bangkok, Thailand.

Photo op with Wat Pho’s main man. Photo taken at Wat Pho Temple Complex in Bangkok, Thailand.

One thought on “South East Asia 2015: Sunburn and Sweat

  1. uncle gary says:

    Uncle gary here heather……enjoyed your bloggy thingy…….be careful out there……don’t trust what people tell you always go by your gut feelings…..not too many cocktails in order to keep sharp……but glad your enjoying it all

Leave a Reply

